Author Topic: Girls in the Video Game Industry #2: Rachel Reynolds  (Read 2140 times)

supershigi

• No Yoshi is an Island
  • Royal Citizen
    • View Profile
Girls in the Video Game Industry #2: Rachel Reynolds
« on: February 06, 2011, 04:47:09 PM »
Girls in the Video Game Industry #2: Rachel Reynolds
Senior Flash Developer at Zynga

For part two of the series I've interviewed a girl who spent over three years working at Wizards of the Coast before going on to develop games for Zynga.  Rachel has done everything from programming cards for Magic Online to implementing Flash features for Mafia Wars.

1.) Can you tell us a bit about your job?

I am currently working in social games. I'm a Senior Flash Developer at Zynga, and have been implementing Flash features for Mafia Wars while establishing a library of common code to use in our game. It has been an interesting experience so far. Since so many millions of people play our games, we always have to be concerned with implementing our features in a way that doesn't bring down our servers. We also get some great perks like massages, a culinary department that cooks us meals every day, and spontaneous trips to Vegas.

Before my current job I was at a small company in Seattle called Cricket Moon Media for 2 years, where we took on contracts to make Flash games and activities for major media clients. And before that I worked at Wizards of the coast for 3 ½ years, first programming cards rules and working on the client for Magic Online, and then prototyping new games.

2.) How did you get into the video game industry?